El Siglo de Oro. The Age of Velázquez

The exhibition is being held under the joint aegis of His Majesty King Felipe VI of Spain and German Federal President Joachim Gauck.

El Siglo de Oro – the golden age of Spanish art – remains one of the most important and popular chapters in European cultural history. This summer in Berlin, a major exhibition showcasing 17th century Spanish painting and sculpture in all its fascinating variety will go on show outside of Spain for the first time. El Siglo de Oro: The Age of Velázquez will comprise 150 masterpieces by Velázquez, El Greco, Francisco de Zurbarán, and Bartolomé E. Murillo, as well as lesser-known artists such as Alonso Cano and Gregorio Fernández.

Beginning 1 July 2016, the Gemäldegalerie of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin will pair its collection of Spanish paintings – one of Germany's most important – with numerous international loans for the large-scale exhibition. Many of these works will be on display for the first time in Germany, and will reveal the wealth of 17th century Spanish art on a scale never before seen. A central task of the exhibition will be to provide a comparative perspective on the development of painting and the sculpture of the period.

Focusing on the trajectories of the artistic centres of Toledo, Valencia, Seville, and Madrid, the exhibition traces historical developments in Spain, where art production was inseparably linked with the political and social developments of the 17th century. Spanish art reached its apex at a time when the country – previously the most powerful in Europe – was confronted with a continuous loss of political power and the increasing influence of Protestantism. Developing out of the conflict between king and church, the era's visual language and iconography primarily served as an instrument of political propaganda, intended to maintain the illusion of strength and stability. The exhibition offers viewers a unique opportunity to acquaint themselves with this important era in the history of European art through original paintings, sculptures, and drawings.

The exhibition will be accompanied by an extensive educational program and a series of concerts, films, and lectures at Berlin's Kulturforum.

The exhibition is co-funded by the Preussischer Kulturbesitz Trustees, the Savings Banks Finance Group and the “la Caixa“ Foundation. The exhibition is supported by the Embassy of Spain, the Instituto Cervantes and the Museum&Location events corporation of the Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin mbH.

An exhibition by the Gemäldegalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin in association with Kunsthalle München.

El Siglo de Oro. Die Ära Velázquez

Die Ausstellung steht unter der gemeinsamen Schirmherrschaft Seiner Majestät Felipe VI. König von Spanien und Bundespräsident Joachim Gauck.

El Siglo de Oro – das goldene Zeitalter der spanischen Kunst – zählt zu den bedeutendsten wie populärsten Kapiteln der europäischen Kulturgeschichte. Erstmals kann in diesem Sommer in Berlin die faszinierende Vielfalt der Malerei und Skulptur des 17. Jahrhunderts auch außerhalb Spaniens umfassend erlebt werden – mit über 150 Meisterwerken von Velázquez, El Greco, Francisco de Zurbarán und Bartolomé E. Murillo sowie bislang kaum bekannten Künstlern wie Alonso Cano und Gregorio Fernández.

In der Gemäldegalerie der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin, die eine der bedeutendsten Sammlungen spanischer Gemälde in Deutschland besitzt, wird ab dem 1. Juli 2016 dank zahlreicher internationaler Leihgaben – viele davon sind erstmalig hierzulande zu sehen –  der Reichtum der spanischen Kunst des 17. Jahrhunderts in einer groß angelegten Sonderausstellung zu sehen sein. Zentraler Aspekt ist die vergleichende Betrachtung der Entwicklung von Malerei und der bisher kaum beachteten Bildhauerkunst.

Am Beispiel der Kunstzentren Toledo, Valencia, Sevilla und Madrid zeichnet die Ausstellung den historischen Wandel Spaniens nach, dessen Kunstpro-duktion untrennbar mit den politischen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen des 17. Jahrhunderts verbunden ist: Die spanische Kunst erreichte in einer Zeit ihren Höhepunkt, in der das zuvor mächtigste Land Europas mit dem kontinuierlichen Verlust politischer Macht und dem wachsenden Einfluss des Protestantismus konfrontiert war. Die sich im Spannungsfeld zwischen König und Kirche entwickelnde Bildsprache und Ikonographie diente primär als Instrument der politischen Propaganda und zur Vortäuschung vermeintlicher Stärke und Stabilität. Die Ausstellung bietet nun die einmalige Gelegenheit, diese bedeutende Epoche der europäischen Kunstgeschichte anhand von Originalen der Malerei, Bildhauerei und Zeichnung kennenzulernen.

Die Ausstellung wird von einem umfangreichen Vermittlungs- und Veranstaltungsprogramm rund um das Kulturforum begleitet.

Die Ausstellung wird großzügig gefördert durch das Kuratorium Preußischer Kulturbesitz, die Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe und die “la Caixa“ Foundation. Weiterhin wird die Ausstellung unterstützt durch die Botschaft von Spanien, das Instituto Cervantes und Museum&Location Veranstaltungsgesellschaft der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin mbH.

Eine Ausstellung der Gemäldegalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin in Kooperation mit der Kunsthalle München.

Tickets

Führungen